Eratosphere

Eratosphere (https://www.ablemuse.com/erato/index.php)
-   General Talk (https://www.ablemuse.com/erato/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Conceptual literature redux (https://www.ablemuse.com/erato/showthread.php?t=17576)

Janice D. Soderling 04-21-2012 02:31 PM

Conceptual literature redux

For your reading pleasure.

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/harr...+The+Blog%2 9

Nicholas F. 04-21-2012 04:08 PM

I'd rather read tea leaves.

Jesse Anger 04-21-2012 04:15 PM

As a Canadian writer I am quite familiar with Christian, he's buddies with most of my profs, and that awful book Annoya, or whatever it's called, is everywhere. Although I think Bok is an excellent lecturer and essayist I find his poetry, sorry, retarded. I could give a shit about a damn machine that writes nonsense sentences, it's dumb. Now writers that create palindromes and do other linguistic tricks such as mirrored constructions upset a set up have a place in my heart, I've always enjoyed premutating letters and such -- but that's not poetry, it's word wizardry. He said once in a lecture that I was at that one need not ever write another sonnet because there was a computer program creating sonnets by the minute -- it sure was( maybe still is) creating 14 IP lines, but that's it -- that ain't no sonnet.

Anyway, as you may be able to tell this guy has a way of getting under my skin, and while I think him a wonderful man I find his aesthetics repulsive.

Janice, this is a good topic link for a discussion

J

Janice D. Soderling 04-21-2012 04:36 PM

Right to both you. We have had some knockdown and dragout threads on this already. That's why I thought it might be of interest.

Chris Childers 04-21-2012 04:40 PM

I think pentametron is funny. You can only read so many of these things, but any single line could provoke a poem. It would be a good exercise.

Edit: This one almost makes sense:

4/20 ain't a fucking holiday
This female really fucking trying me
We talking swisher sweets and warren G