Eratosphere Forums - Metrical Poetry, Free Verse, Fiction, Art, Critique, Discussions Able Muse - a review of poetry, prose and art

Forum Left Top

Notices

Unread 07-16-2006, 09:48 AM

Next year, I'll be the Visiting Scholar in English at Phillips Academy in Andover, MA. I'm slated to teach Composition and African American literature. Although I'm still learning what my duties will be, the chair has asked me to read from my dissertation Theorizing a Diasporic Aesthetic in Twentieth-Century African and Jewish American Autobiography. I also will read from my poetry manuscript Sprezzatura!, which I hope fellow Erastophereans will continue to critique. Now all that to say this: I'd like to invite area and national Erastosphereans to campus. I know that such a gig would be enjoyable. I'd like to know who the local Erastophereans are and whether y'all would helping me in hosting Erastophereans to read.
Unread 07-16-2006, 03:32 PM

Jamison,

Swank gig! Congratulations are in order.

Quincy
Unread 07-17-2006, 04:04 AM

Hi Jamison,

Congratulations! I'm a bit far away to visit, but I would if I was nearer. Good luck with that.

Best,
Greg
Unread 07-17-2006, 07:55 AM

Dear Jamison:

Several of the people you'll meet on this site are members of the Powow River Poets. We have regular reading 7:30 p.m. (usually) on the third Wednesday of each month in nearby Newburyport, MA. There is more information on the general announcement page, or you can go to:
http://www.newburyportart.org/pages/about_poets.html
Unread 07-17-2006, 12:55 PM

Stephen beat me to it, but welcome to the Powow neighborhood. Andover is about 30 minutes from Newburyport - some of our members live there - and you will be relocating into a cauldron of formal poetry. Wow, do we have potential readers for you! The line is probably already forming. Please get in touch when you make the move, and hope to see you at Powow.

[This message has been edited by Michael Cantor (edited July 17, 2006).]