Eratosphere Forums - Metrical Poetry, Free Verse, Fiction, Art, Critique, Discussions Able Muse - a review of poetry, prose and art

Forum Left Top

Notices

Unread 08-16-2001, 03:14 AM

I am a beginner poet, and feel I have gotten rid of my awful tin ear only recently. That is: I feel capable of writing regular, metric poetry.

But regular can become relentless, even when the regularity is Steele-style, like a line that would scan 2-4-1-2-3-4-2-4-1-3, which some poets would scan as x/ xx // x/ x/ - as a line with pyrrhic and spondaic substitution.

So I wonder when other substitutions may be permissible, or when substitution with pyrrhics and spondees whose stress curves are 2-1 or 4-3 are permissible in iambic verse.

Trochaic substitution, for instance: I see it used for emphasis sometimes. But do you need to emphasize to make a trochaic substitution? And will trochaic substitution always work well when you want to emphasise something?

I hope to develop "ear" for substitution in time, but think rules-of-thumb will be a good help not only while I work on developing that ear, but also as a means of developing that same ear.

------------------

Svein Olav

.. another life
Unread 08-16-2001, 03:42 AM

Eeeeeeeeeeeooooooooouuuuuuuuuyyyyyyyooooooooouuuuu uuu!!!

A three-page lecture about the importance of writing what sounds good to you is about to pop out of me!

On the other hand, if you admit to having a tin ear, perhaps you do need to write by the numbers. I don't usually write by the metrical rules, but let me see if I understand them well enough to list them:

(These rules are for iambic verse.)

1. Most variations are best placed towards the beginning of the line, especially trochees.

2. If you employ a variation in one line, best to do it in the others also, as in Frost's occasional practice of throwing one or two anapests into each line. (Being consistent with anapests is more important than being consistent with trochees, as anapests lengthen the line.)