Eratosphere Forums - Metrical Poetry, Free Verse, Fiction, Art, Critique, Discussions Able Muse - a review of poetry, prose and art

Forum Left Top

Old 08-31-2018, 07:51 AM

Default maundering sapphics

PaleTurquoise text

Free-Floating Clouds
for Sam Francis
Or else what? The dripping of thirty faucets
banters of irregular hours (muddled
measure of a muddled idea), perplexing,
....slowly, our clamor.

"... if you catch my drift," but, arriving too late,
after snow has piled up and life lies buried
underneath the glistening cold, well, no, I
....never do catch it,

rather find myself in the thaw, unclenching
my stiff legs and piecing myself together—
badly. Pardon me. I'm still learning how to
....retrofit data.

Now the crows have settled, like homes erected
on misgiving ground, in the trees. They've started
cawing, densely now, now in isolation,
....certain of something

which, I will admit, is most likely true, but
which I find I can't disentangle from that
which most likely isn't. For instance, this caw,
....which is—both? neither?

Wait. I'm told my methods all lack sufficient
rigor, told my efforts to date are voided,
having been engorged by the sinkhole that I
....should've seen coming.

Nothing happens, nothing is settled—nothing,
though at least we get a few metaphoric
insights, maybe. Maybe all this will make sense
....later, I promise.

Edits:
S2L3: no --> no
S4L2: trees, and --> trees. They've
S5L3: here --> caw
S6L2: that --> told

Initial S6 cut. Was:
Instantly, another event, which changes
everything and causes a traffic stoppage
in the heretofore unassuming flow, cars
....skidding on black ice.

Last edited by Aaron Novick; 09-04-2018 at 06:17 PM.
Old 09-03-2018, 03:22 PM

Aaron,

The painting this is based off is excellent. For those who don't know, here's a link to an article on Francis, the painting is on pg. 2.

I almost like this poem better if you cut it to three and rearranged it:
Now the crows have settled, like homes erected