Eratosphere Forums - Metrical Poetry, Free Verse, Fiction, Art, Critique, Discussions Able Muse - a review of poetry, prose and art

Forum Left Top

Notices

Unread 05-04-2003, 11:14 PM

I'll address this to Rhina, but I invite anyone else to chime in with info on contemporary formalist poetry being written in other languages.

As a novice translator, I feel that my attempts to bring the often-translated works of giants like Garcilaso, Neruda, and company into contemporary English contribute little to anyone but myself. It's not so much that I can't compete with great translators like Barnstone et al. (although that's certainly true), as that I've been thinking it might be fun to try my hand at some more modern authors who haven't yet entered the canon--or, better still, who may never enter the canon and would be flattered to have a third-rate translator like me take a stab at their work.

Rhina, where might one find formalist poetry in Spanish these days? Where do you publish your Spanish-language stuff (which I'm assuming is metrical)? The few international journals I've seen are free-verse only, and often the language is too slangy for my dictionary to handle.

Would it be more productive to simply track down Spanish-language books by known formalists via interlibrary loan? If so, can you list the names (and perhaps titles) of some likely suspects?

Again, if anyone has similar info for other languages, feel free to jump in here.

Julie Stoner
Unread 05-05-2003, 02:09 AM

Dear Julie

Anthologies of modern poetry are a good source. Over the years, I have gathered a wide range of these and through them come across a number of foreign-language poets, some working metrically, some not, whose work I have then explored directly by buying their original collections. Though they appear in anthologies, not all will be poets of the first water, though of course some are.