Eratosphere Forums - Metrical Poetry, Free Verse, Fiction, Art, Critique, Discussions Able Muse - a review of poetry, prose and art

Forum Left Top

Notices

Unread 01-06-2002, 03:33 PM

I would like to hear from others who have taught poetry. The whole notion of teaching people to appreciate poetry often strikes me as hopeless, yet I've been working at it for over twenty years and, if my students' testimonials are any indication (some of them given AFTER final grades were assigned!), I've had some success now and then.
How much poetry do your students already know?
How much do they know ABOUT poetry?
What poetry seems to get to them most often and most powerfully?
What do you hope to accomplish in teaching poetry?
Richard
PS Next year for the first time I'll be teaching the Bible as literature. I'd also appreciate hearing from anyone with experience in that heavily fraught endeavor. If there's much response, we can start a separate thread.
Unread 01-06-2002, 05:07 PM

Richard, interesting questions. I'll be back on the teaching issue. If you haven't seen Northrop Frye's two books on The Bible AND Literature, I highly recommend them: The Great Code and Words with Power, both Harvest Books. His emphasis is on how it influenced writers, but in the process he does some amazing structural and image analysis--some of which influenced about six of my poems, including "The Word," "The Trees's Tale," and "In His Self-Image."

------------------
Ralph
Unread 01-06-2002, 09:57 PM

Richard,

Are you asking about teaching students to write poetry or to read and appreciate it?

Have you any specific age or grade level in mind?

Bob
Unread 01-07-2002, 02:42 AM

Hello, Richard!

Like you, I spent a large part of my career (after starting out as a lawyer) teaching poetry within a wider brief for literature and language.